A pleasant surprise and not a bad start to the series: Moon Called (Mercy Thompson #1) Review

Standard

Moon Called (Mercedes Thompson, #1)Moon Called by Patricia Briggs
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

“Werewolves can be dangerous if you get in their way, but they’ll leave you alone if you are careful. They are very good at hiding their natures from the human population, but I’m not human. I know them when I meet them, and they know me, too.

Mercy Thompson’s sexy next-door neighbor is a werewolf.

She’s tinkering with a VW bus at her mechanic shop that happens to belong to a vampire.

But then, Mercy Thompson is not exactly normal herself … and her connection to the world of things that go bump in the night is about to get her into a whole lot of trouble.”

I wasn’t sure about this book when I first started it. I haven’t read that many PNR or UF which feature were anythings as main characters. I’m more of a vampire kinda gal. Still, I’d read some good reviews so I thought I’d give it a go. I have to admit, I was pleasantly surprised.

The book is written in the first person, from Mercy Thompson’s point of view. She’s not a were, she’s a shapeshifter and can turn into a coyote at will, but she was raised by werewolves so she knows the culture, and how to survive it very well. There is a lot of scene setting at the beginning of the book and a lot of explanation of were culture. It is all important to know, but did make the first section of the book a little slow. In fact there are more than a few pages that feature no dialogue at all.

Once the story gets going though, it’s a real page turner. Some strange werewolves are in town and are up to some serious no good and Mercy is right in the middle of it all. She teams up with neighbour and hot Alpha wolf Adam to find out what the hell is going on and stop anyone else from getting hurt. In the middle of it all, Adam gets seriously injured, his human 15 year old daughter is kidnapped and Mercy’s ex shows up.  He is no ordinary ex though, he’s a werewolf and son of the Maroc (Alpha of all Alpha’s – just to keep us all on our toes!)

Mercy is a likeable female lead.  She’s a bit kick-ass but not a complete bitch with a massive chip on her shoulder, despite having grown up in the complex world of Werewolf politics, without actually being a werewolf herself.  Vampires and Fae also feature in supporting roles, which makes for an interesting paranormal world and I’m keen to find out more.

Despite the fact the book was a little slow to get going, the pace soon really knocks up a gear and I read the whole book in a couple of days.  However, it was almost as if the rest of the story happened too quickly, meaning that the climax was a little disappointing. Briggs could have also made a lot more of the sexual tension between Adam and Mercy and Sam (the ex) and Mercy….. maybe I like my UF with a of adult kick.

It’s still a good story, but because it’s quite short, I feel like I’ve only read a few chapters of a story rather than a whole book. I’m definitely reading the next in the series though cos at some point the action with Adam has to heat up!!

Worth a read, if only to move on the next in the series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

